IOTech Systems Limited

Best viewed on a device with a bigger screen...
Tel: +44 (0)191 814 2220

Date: May 6, 2021

1st Session

9am BST | 5pm Hong Kong

Register Now

2nd Session

9am PT | 12pm ET | 5pm BST

Register Now

Join James Butcher, IOTech Product Manager and recognized industry expert for the latest instalment in IOTech’s Webcast Series as he discusses the need for interoperability between Edge and Cloud architectures and why a Hybrid model is the way forward.

There is currently an acceleration from fully centralized cloud-based systems to distributed architectures driven by edge computing. Cloud computing alone is unable to handle the vast amounts of data that will be created by the billions of connected devices that are predicted, or the need for local insights from the latency-sensitive applications on which they depend. However, most systems will not solely rely on edge computing solutions either. In fact, fully autonomous edge applications are quite rare.

Most systems require a hybrid solution consisting of both edge and cloud components. Users require the ability to utilize cloud resources for heavy-duty applications, while using edge computing for lighter-weight processing and local, real-time insights. In this hybrid model, interoperability between edge architectures and cloud environments is absolutely key.

The Session Will Help You:

  • Understand why hybrid edge-cloud architectures are so important
  • Understand the challenges of ensuring bi-directional connectivity and data flow between edge and cloud systems
  • Understand the key requirements and features of the edge and cloud platforms needed to support hybrid deployments 
  • Learn why open architecture solutions are fundamental to ensuring harmony between edge and cloud environments 

There will also be a demonstration of IOTech's Edge Xpert edge software platform showing how a hybrid edge-cloud architecture can be easily implemented. Edge Xpert is an open, pluggable and configurable edge software platform with built in multi-cloud support to ensure interoperability between OT devices, edge processing nodes and cloud endpoints. 

 


Access the Webcast Videos On-Demand and Register Interest for Upcoming Webinars

If you have difficulties accessing Zoom, or whether your availability is not suitable to the webcasts' dates and times, you can subscribe to our Webcast On-Demand and have the latest webcast videos delivered into your inbox.

Register your interest by clicking on the button below.

Subscribe Now

Access Key Enabled Navigation

Keywords for: IOTech Webcast Series: From Centralized to Hybrid Edge-Cloud Architectures

edge computing, internet of things, IoT, Industrial IoT