Managing Users

Only the default user account can be used to manager user accounts.

The USERS menu only displays when Edge Xpert has been started with the --xpert-manager and --vault options, as shown in the following examples:

  • If Edge Xpert has not already been started, enter:

    edgexpert up --xpert-manager --vault [other services]
    
  • If Edge Xpert has already been started without the user interface, enter:

    edgexpert up --no-core --xpert-manager --vault
    

When the USERS menu displays, the admin user account can do the following:

Viewing Current User Accounts

To display the Users pane, select USERS from the main menu.

All current user accounts are listed, as illustrated below:

Users Pane

Adding User Accounts

To add a user, complete the following steps:

  1. Select the Add (+) icon

    The Add User dialog box displays, as illustrated below:

Add User Dialog Box
  1. Enter the username for the account in the Name text box

  2. Enter a description of the user account in the Description text box

  3. Enter an initial password for the account in the Password text box

  4. Enter the same initial password in the Re-enter password text box

    Note

    IOTech recommends that you advise new users to change their password on first log in, as described in the Changing Your Password section of the Starting Edge Xpert topic.

  5. Select the OK button. Selecting the Cancel button closes the Add User dialog box without creating a user account

Editing User Accounts

You can change the information for a user account. For example, you might want to change the username of the default user account or reset a password for a user who has forgotten their password and therefore cannot reset it through the Login page.

To edit a user account, complete the following steps:

  1. Select the Edit User (edit) icon from the Action column of the user account you want to change

    The Edit User dialog box displays, as illustrated below:

Edit User Dialog Box
  1. Change the details as required. You can change the following information for the selected user account:
    • Username
    • Description
    • Password
  2. Select the OK button. Selecting the Cancel button closes the Add User dialog box without changing the user account

Deleting User Accounts

To delete a user account, complete the following steps:

  1. Select the Delete User (x) icon from the Action column for the user account

    The Confirm Delete dialog box displays.

  2. Select the Delete button to delete the user account. Selecting the Cancel button closes the dialog box without deleting the user account